Follow by Email

Saturday, December 31, 2011

ALL MOMS PLEASE READ THIS!!! It is something I feel is super important

A few weeks ago, we had a very terrifying situation arise. My 6 month old was in her bouncer and I walked out of the room for a minute to use the bathroom. In the time I was gone, my 2 year old found jet dri (dishwasher stuff to remove spots) and poured it all over the baby. She thought she was giving the baby a bath. I had to scrub the baby down and rush her to the ER where they had to flush her eyes several times and wanted to sedate her but I wasnt going to let that happen unless absolutely necessary. She had a rash all over her body from the chemical and scratches in her eyes that required antibiotic ointment. The screams that came from my little girl terrified me. I thought that all of my cleaners were out of reach but little children are smart and my daughter figured out how to make "steps" to get to them.
Please make sure that you keep ALL cleaners in a safe place, out of sight or reach for children. The situation could have been A LOT worse if I hadnt reacted the way I did. The doctors said the quick response and cleaning her body and eyes may have saved her from hospitalization. I am begging all of you to please make sure that your kids absolutely can not get hold of cleaners.

New Year New Directions :)

Ok everyone. So I have decided to take some new directions with the blog this year. I am going to also be writing about topics I feel are important for families, personal experiences that might help someone else, and if anyone else has a topic that they would like to see please email me at youngmamasreviews@hotmail.com


As part of the New Year, I would like to introduce myself a little bit to new readers. Everyone wants to know who they are reading.

I am a younger mama with 3 beautiful little girls ages 4,2, and 6 months. They have been such different children that I have experienced a lot with them.

My oldest was born via induction at 43 weeks weighing in at 9 lbs 1.5 oz.
My second was born via induction at 36 weeks due to heart rate decrease weighing in at 7 lbs 11 oz.
And the baby was born on her own at 38 weeks weighing in at 7 lbs 9.5 oz. She was not waiting and I delivered less then an hr after my water broke. Thankfully we were at the hospital for an ultrasound when it happened!

I cloth diaper, babywear, cosleep, and many other things.

I have been married since Valentines Day 2009. And found out 2 weeks later about baby number 2.


I probably missed a bunch but I dont want to write a book :)

Thursday, June 23, 2011

My Cute Genes Cloth Diaper Giveaway!!!!-closed

My Cute Genes is sponsoring a giveaway for one of her newest diapers!!! Her new Quilted Genes diaper in a cute 4th of July pattern is actually mini quilted prior to being made into a diaper. They are super cute. Due to unforeseen circumstances(I have been in and out of the hospital), this giveaway will be shorter to allow you to receive it in time for the 4th. I am going to pick the winner on June 28th at 9 pm EST. So make sure to get your entries in and tell everyone else to get theirs in!!!! YOU MUST MAKE A SEPERATE COMMENT FOR EACH ENTRY!!!!



Mandatory Entry: Like My Cute Genes on Facebook

Other Entries: Like Young Mama's Reviews on Facebook
Visit My Cute Genes website and let us know what your favorite item is.
Refer other friends to the contest!!!! I am going to give extra entries for referrals. How this works is your friend will do their mandatory entry,  then post another comment saying who sent them, and then you will also post a comment saying you sent that person! There will be no limit on this so make sure to share with everyone!!!!

My Cute Genes Cloth Diaper Review!!!

I would like to introduce you all to a new cloth diaper WAHM that I have been able to review the past few weeks. Her name is Stacy Mojica and she is the My Cute Genes cloth diaper creator. My Cute Genes diapers are similar to the Flips system. They have a fold in the front and back to tuck the ends of the insert into. When the diaper gets dirty you simply change the insert instead of the whole diaper.


Since I have spoken to many of you who have been in search of military themed diapers, I decided to review the Green Genes pattern. The Green Genes pattern is the Army ACU pattern with gray PUL. It has matching snaps and a velcro strip on the back that you can add a patch to. Stacy offers the U.S. Army patch or she can order a name patch that simply attaches to the velcro strip on the back.


My daughter has chunky thighs and a thinner waist and these diapers were able to be adjusted to fit her perfectly! They have a PUL gusset on the legs to help prevent any leaks. My daughter even wore these at night with no leakage!

These diapers are One Size. They have multiple rows of snaps to adjust the size and waist. The site says up to 32 lbs but my daughter is 35 lbs and she still had 2 sets of snaps in the waist and the rise was still perfect even though she is taller.

The inserts are made of layers of suedecloth, zorb, and a hemp/cotton blend. She also offers a microfleece alternative for those allergic to suedecloth. These inserts have fold down lines and use the same insert no matter what size you have the diaper set to.

As most of you know, my husband is not very interested in cloth diapers. He likes that they save him money but he won't change one unless he is the only one home. However, when we openned the package, he was automatically interested. He said that this was the best looking diaper he has seen yet and he was very impressed with the quality and construction. After the first use, he couldn't believe how well the soaker absorbed. He even showed his friends when they visited!!! I don't know many men who are so impressed with a diaper that they would brag about it to friends. :)

We did run into a problem with shipping originally, thanks to the post office not taking care of packages. By the time the package got here, the diaper had 2 small tears and everything was soaking wet. I notified Stacy immediately and told her that it wouldn't affect function and not to worry about it. However, she sent me an email the next day that she was replacing it for me and it would be out asap. She even sent the new diaper Express for me. It was a learning process that was quickly solved. She sent the new diaper in a waterproof, tear proof bag that worked wonderfully!

Stacy also sends her diapers already prepped and ready to use straight from the package. She includes a pamphlet that explains every aspect of the diaper and how to use it. She also includes wash instructions. The wash instructions are very easy to do. These diapers are made to withstand high heat.
I was able to wash them with my normal routine of cold prewash, hot wash with detergent, and warm rinse.

I absolutely love these diapers because of the easy fit adjustments, absorbency, and they are just sooooo cute!!!! Please check out her new site and see the other diapers and items she has to offer.
My Cute Genes

Monday, June 13, 2011

Momma Cricketz soapy sack GIVEAWAY!!!!!-CLOSED

Hey ladies, its time for another giveaway :)
1 Momma Cricketz soapy sack in winner's choice of flannel from current stock!!!- Open until June 21st at Noon EST.
Every entry must be a seperate comment.

Mandatory Entry: Like Momma Cricketz on facebook.


Other entries: Like Young Mama's Reviews on facebook.
Follow my blog on GFC.
Follow Young Mama's Reviews on twitter.
Watch my facebook page for extra entry chances!!!

Momma Cricketz soapy sack review

I don't know how many of you are familiar with Johnson and Johnson's sudsy buddy bars but my kids love them! For the past 2 weeks my daughters have been having a blast reviewing a WAHM version of these.
I would like to introduce you guys to Momma Cricketz soapy sacks. They are flannel on one side and terry on the other with a velcro closure. You just add your favorite bar of soap.
These sacks make it easy for kids to hold their soap without dropping it. I also noticed that the soap lasts longer when I use this instead of just the bar. The kids have fun with them and they are functional!

I tend to see what else I can do with items that I review and I found that these also work better then washclothes with liquid body wash :) Normally, if I put a few squirts of body wash on a washcloth I need to reapply it in a few minutes. I put a few squirts of body wash inside one of these and it lasted for the entire bath.

I ran into a small issue when I went to wash my soapy sack. I put it in the hot wash with my cloth diapers and some stitching came out. I immediately notified Cricket and she responded quickly, requesting pictures so that she could work on the design to fix the problem. Not only did she plan to fix the problem but she also sent me a new and improved version as a replacement!!!
Momma Cricketz has awesome products and she also is great with customer service! Please check out some of her other products as well as the soapy sacks.

Also, a suggestion would be to wash on a warm cycle if you have extremely hot water(or maybe make sure your velcro diapers are firmly attached first lol)

Congratulations Bows by Audra giveaway winner!

Comment #7-Ashley M. I will be emailing you today for your address. Congratulations and I hope you enjoy your new bow!!!

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Bows by Audra Giveway!!!!-Closed

I have the pleasure of offering a giveaway for a Large Korker Bow from Bows by Audra. I absolutely love it and may have to buy one for myself! The giveaway will be open for 2 weeks starting Noon EST on May 24th and will end June 7th at NOON EST. This giveaway does have 1 mandatory entry but also other ways to enter.

Mandatory entry: You must go like Bows by Audra on facebook and let her know I sent you :)

Other Entries:
Follow the blog with GFC.
Like Young Mama's Reviews on facebook.
Follow my Twitter page
Tell me what your favorite item on Audra's page is!!!

Bows By Audra Review!!!

About a month ago, I had the honor of winning a contest for Bows by Audra on facebook.  http://www.facebook.com/#!/BowsByAudra
After trying just one bow, my daughters and I became addicted! I started getting bows regularly :)
Audra offers numerous different styles of bows. My favorite are the mini korker bows because they work by themselves and as a set with pigtails!
I also bought an inside out bow in cow print to match my youngest daughter's diaper :) I wish I had the picture to show but I couldn't get it on here but here is a picture of the bow!

I also fell in love with Audra's flower clips. She has basic flowers and also makes funky printed flowers!



My daughter's have started a routine of making sure they have a bow or flower in their hair every single day! After they are dressed, they insist on getting "pretty". It is a huge change from the little girls who hated getting their hair brushed let alone putting it up. All thanks to Audra's adorable bows and flowers.
Audra has also recently expanded into little boys ties and some bow holders. While I have not had the pleasure of trying these yet, they are not far behind :)

Audra is a wonderful woman to order from. She is very courteous and efficient. I have never had any problems with my orders. They have always been sent quickly and packaged well. She has put up with my indecisiveness numerous times and helped me come up with what I wanted. I even contacted her with a price point and said surprise me! I was pleasantly surprised with the items I received.
With that said, I want to suggest that you all go check out her facebook page and send her some love for me :)




Monday, May 23, 2011

The Review and Giveaway for Bows By Audra

The review and giveaway for Bows by Audra will be postponed until tomorrow due to pregnancy issues. I apologize to those of you who were looking forward to it but it will be up tomorrow :) Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Congratulations to the Rockin Green Giveaway Winner!!!

The winner of the Rockin Green giveaway was entry 16!!!
Congratulations Jenilee Whisler!
Please email me at youngmamasreviews@hotmail.com with your address.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Rockin Green Giveaway!!!!

ITS FINALLY HERE!!!!-ENDED MAY 23rd
I am giving away a 45/90 bag of Rockin Green Detergent in the scent and formula of the winner's choice. I will be leaving this giveaway open until May 23,2011 at noon EST. There is no mandatory entry. However, there are multiple ways to enter and you are allowed to enter once per way. Also, keep an eye on my Facebook page because I may have ways to earn more entries! After each thing you do, leave a comment here to let me know what you did. If you use facebook or twitter methods please remember to leave your id from those pages in the comment. One comment per entry! Here are the ways to enter:
I hope you guys have fun!

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Rockin Green Detergent! Review

2 full weeks ago I decided to put myself to the challenge of using Rockin Green detergent on all of my diapers for an entire 2 weeks. I personally have never used actual cloth diaper detergent on my diapers. I simply used a store brand detergent that was rated 4 stars for cloth diapers. I am all about doing things the cheapest way possible but still being effective. I had heard both good and bad about Rockin Green and noticed to some it seemed almost a cloth diaper community status symbol. Of course, being so opinionated myself I needed to find this out for myself.
When the package of Rockin Green came in the mail, I immediately washed all of my diapers with my normal routine. (This is not the routine on the package, but I decided to try it the way others said they were using it and it didn't work well for them). Understand that the way I did this was the way many had told me they did, and it was done many other ways as well because I wanted to see if the instructions really did matter. (Some products don't need to be followed word for word). I use a top loader so I filled my washer all of the way and put the recommended amount of detergent on a prewash setting(warm as I was told). Then washed them on the regular cycle again with hot water and rinsed 2x with cold water(again as many said they did). And sure enough my diapers were still stinky even though they looked clean with the exception of 2 that were really poopy beforehand. I rewashed them all of course.
The next time I washed my diapers, I decided to follow just the wash instructions on the package exactly as they were written. I quickly realized that this was working out much better then the previous try :)
So for my third use of the Rockin Green detergent, I decided to try the soak method and then wash. My diapers came out absolutely wonderful! I didn't need a second rinse either. They were stink free, stain free, and soft.
The samples that I had sent to me at my request were Classic Rock, but I had also received some samples of Hard Rock from a friend. My water is not that hard, but I do have to say that Hard Rock was more efficient then Classic Rock was. So maybe my water was harder then I had thought.
I used Rage Against the Raspberries. It was a nice pleasant sent when I opened the package. So many detergents these days are too strong and hurt my nose since I am allergic to strong fragrances. However, this was a subtle enough sent that I could smell it without it burning. :)
In conclusion, I would have to say that this is one of those situations where following instructions makes all of the difference in whether it works well or not. The smell was fabulous. Shipping was quick. Customer service was sensational. Packaging was attractive. I would definitely buy this again and will be recommending it to others, because it is truly a wonderful product. :)
I will be posting a giveaway for a 45/90 bag of Rockin Green of winners choice of scent and formula on Monday, May 9th. This giveaway will go for 2 full weeks. I will then use random.org to choose a winner :) So tell all of your friends

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

My Game Plan so far!!

Ok from now until the end of Mother's Day I am doing a referral contest on facebook. Send everyone over to fan my page and make sure they mention who sent them!!! The winner will win a special surprise for both mommy and baby :)

After Mother's Day will be the Rockin Green Giveaway that I will post the day after Mother's Day with all of the information on how to enter! I will leave this open for 2 weeks.

Then I will be doing a giveaway for Bows by Audra!!! I absolutely love her bows and you will too!!! 

As you can see there will be giveaways for the next few weeks!!! Spread the news!

Monday, May 2, 2011

Upcoming Reviews and Giveaways

I am currently doing reviews for Rockin Green Detergent and a Custom Tshirt company. The reviews will be up within the next week.
I will be doing a giveaway for Rockin Green starting Monday, May 9th.
There is a potential giveaway for the tshirt company as well. :)
Spread the word!!! The more followers I have the more giveaways I can do.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Green Scene Organic Bamboo Velour OS Fitted

Recently I have had the pleasure of receiving a few OBVs from Green Scene. http://hyenacart.com/GreenSceneDiapers/ 
These diapers come in super cute designs and are extremely soft. They are one size and they have the perfect amount of snaps to adjust the waist to any size. They are also super easy to snap on to a wiggly child. My daughter is 18 months old and she does not like clothes, but I am able to get this diaper on her in a few seconds.
My daughter is a heavy wetter so I have always been a little skeptical about trying fitteds without a cover. I decided to give it a shot though, just so that I can give a full review of all aspects. They held up to my daughter!!! Most diapers dont stand a chance with her. She is able to go around the house for 2-3 hrs before she starts to soak through. I still use a cover for naps and going out. They hold up wonderfully at naptime with a cover.
I have had no problems with stink with these. They are super easy to clean and they rinse easily. They have a fairly short drying time for a fitted diaper. My daughter has pooed in these and they were easy to clean off even without a sprayer.
My experience with these diapers was wonderful. My daughter even loves these because of how soft they are. They also have a perfect fit for her. She is tall with chunky thighs and with all of the ways you can adjust the snaps, I was able to fit them to her with no problems at all.
I also want to note that my experience with "customer service" was fabulous as well. I have been in contact with Melisa and she is one of the kindest women I have spoken to. She is helpful with any questions I have. She is very understanding of any person's individual situation.
I would definitely recommend these diapers to any mama that wants a cute, comfy fitted!
Let them know I sent you so I can get some awesome discounts and there will be a giveaway in the future :)

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Welcome!

Hello and Thanks for visiting my blog! So many times I have tried something new and wanted to tell everyone how wonderful it is and I think the easiest way to spread the word these days is to do so via internet. :) This blog will be all about products I try. If you have a product you would like reviewed please let me know. Also, if you are a consumer who would like me to try something first feel free to make suggestions and I will do my best to get access to that product.
All reviews will be based not only on the product but also customer service for that company. As a mother of 3, I know how frustrating it can be when you need to contact customer service and they are rude or impossible to get hold of so I will also be letting consumers as well as the company themselves know if there is something that can be fixed concerning customer service.
I plan to review all sorts of products from every category and all reviews will be 100% unbiased. I will be reviewing based solely on that product and not considering my experience with other products so that I will be able to concentrate on every aspect of said product without influencing anyone's opinions based off of my own opinions. I am not here to sway anyone's decisions towards specific products, but to inform the consumer of what I have experienced so they can make informed decisions.
Please understand that I WILL be mentioning what my favorite and least favorite parts of a product are BUT I will NOT be mentioning other products in the review(such as product A is not as good as product B because of such and such reasons). Thanks again  for visiting and feel free to follow or message me :)